Agenda - Ninth Annual Yale Alumni in Energy Conference

Agenda - Ninth Annual Yale Alumni in Energy Conference


April 27


10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Tour of Millstone Nuclear Power Plant, Waterford, CT (Pre-Registration required, limited to 15 people). 

Shuttle to pick up all guests at Omni Hotel at 8:45am.

6:30 PM
Dinner at Elm City Social, 266 College Street, New Haven (Pre-registration required)

April 28

7:45 AM

Shuttle to Yale School of Management (165 Whitney Ave) from Omni Hotel

8:00 AM   

Continental Breakfast at Yale School of Management

8:30 AM  
Welcome & Introduction

  • Richard Tavelli ‘79 MPPM
  • Dan Fisher ‘04 MSL, Forbes

8:35 AM
Opening Remarks

  • Gary Brudvig, Director Yale Energy Sciences Institute, Benjamin Silliman, Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biophysics and Biochemistry
  • Edward (Ted) Synder, Indra K. Nooyi Dean and William S. Beinecke Professor of Economics and Management, Yale School of Management

9:00 AM

Developing Israel’s Leviathan Gas Field

  • Dan Fisher ‘04 MSL, Moderator
  • Kristen Ghattas ’04, ‘10 JD, ‘10 MBA, Noble Energy
  • Amir Nebenzhal ’04 MBA, Noble Energy
  • Wes Johnson ‘09 MA, ‘09 MBA, Noble Energy
  • Laura Johnson ‘09 MBA, Noble Energy

9:45 AM


10:00 AM
Today’s Challenges in Grid Management

  • Barbara Tyran ‘79 MBA, Moderator, Executive Director, Government & External Relations, Electric Power Research Institute
  • Bob Nelson ‘77, President, National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates
  • Sonny Popowsky ‘72, Pennsylvania Office of Consumer Advocate (retired)
  • Bob Ethier ‘90, Vice President, Market Operations ISO New England

11:15 AM
Break for Lunch at New Haven Lawn Club (a short walk!)

12:30 PM
Lunch concludes (walk back to Evans Hall)

1:00 PM
Rate of Market Adoption of New Technologies in Energy Efficiency and Clean Energy Technologies

  • Paul Beaton ‘10 JD, ‘10 MEM, Senior Program Officer, National Academies of Sciences
  • Matthew Nordan ‘97, Managing Partner, MNL Parters

2:00 PM

Today and Tomorrow for Nuclear Power

  • Christina Back ‘84, Vice President Nuclear Reactor Technology, General Atomics

2:45 PM

3:15 PM
Energy Technology Developments

  • Richard Tavelli ‘79 MPPM, Moderator

Yale Breakthrough (10% efficiency) in Photovoltaic Technology

  • Andre’ Taylor, Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering 

Geothermal Energy Development

  • G. Warfield (Skip) Hobbs ‘69, Managing Director, Ammonite Resources

4:15 PM
Renewable Energy Technologies CENG-ENAS 430

  • Professor Andre’ Taylor, Moderator
  • Term Project Presentation by the students

5:30 PM
Closing Remarks and Reception

  • Ed Hirs ’79 ‘79 MA ‘81 MBA